2.6 Online delivery

Board representative: Brett O'Riley

Facilitator: Phil Ker (Otago Polytechnic)

Establishment Unit Principal Advisor: Helen Kilber

Members: Dr Flora Gilkison (HITO); Irihāpeti Mahuika (Haeta Community Campus); Jon Smith (NorthTec); Pamela Simpson (TANZ/Campus); Paul Fallon (Whitireia and WelTec); Peter Fletcher-Dobson (BCITO); Dr Ruth Crawford (WITT); Sandra Hutton (LearningWorks); Shanan Holm (OPNZ); Sue Joyce (Wintec)

What we've done

We broadened our scope from online delivery to 'technology-enabled engagement with learning processes' and generated a first round of associated 'big ideas'. We sought feedback from our respective networks on our draft scope and purpose.

We made sure we stayed connected to the Learner Journey input so we didn't lose sight of who we were solving for. We looked at how to get vendor-neutral expert input on questions such as 'make vs buy' and 'proprietry vs open-source software'. We've been careful to stay focused on the future needs of the new national institute and ensure we step out of institutional silos.

What we're working on this month

The strawman report including our recommendations has been shared with the IST Establishment Board for feedback, testing and validation. Once feedback is received we will further refine our recommendations.

Coming up

We'll take into account all the feedback received and finalise our recommendations for the new Council.