2.5 New academic architecture

Board representative: Dr Linda Sissons

Facilitator: Chris Collins (EIT)

Establishment Unit Principal Advisor: Vikki Roadley

Members: Deborah Young (Ara); Janen Kapa (Otago Polytechnic); Kieran Hewitson (Toi Ohomai); Dr Leanne Ivil (Whitireia and WelTec);  Luana Te Hira (MIT); Monica Kershaw (EWRB); Phil Edwards (TEU); Rachael Dippie (MITO); Sarah Proctor-Thomson (NMIT); Toby Beaglehole (Connexis)

What we've done

We defined our scope and reviewed previous work completed through sector workshops to make sure we weren't reinventing the wheel. We're mindful of reflecting on-job and off-job quality assurance in the new world of a national institute with regional campuses. 

We completed an environmental scan of best practice and innovative models, capturing the student voice from the student union perspective and academic board representatives, and the business voice. We have collated current structures in order to draw the best aspects from quality assurance models in both ITP and ITO contexts.

What we're working on this month

The strawman report including our recommendations has been shared with the IST Establishment Board for feedback, testing and validation. Once feedback is received we will further refine our recommendations.

Coming up

We'll take into account all the feedback received and finalise our recommendations for the new Council.